Writing Wednesday: The Done List

This writing prompt is two pronged: one for us and one for you.

Last week, I read this article in Slate about the anti-to-do list. As someone who can get discouraged by the length of my own to-do list (I get bogged down in the have-tos until it feels like that is the sum total of my life: all the things I have not done), I found L.V. Anderson’s article much more inspiring.

To sum up: instead of listing things you need to do, make a list of what you have already accomplished for the day/week/month/whatever. Today, for example, I have written three blog posts, ordered scripts for an upcoming production, hunted down two more jobs to apply for, and responded (articulately) to three important emails. I’ve only been awake a couple hours. Go me!

So, your two-pronged writing assignment, should you choose to accept it:

  1. Write a DONE! list for yourself for the last week. You don’t need to share this. I just want you to feel good about what you’ve accomplished. And….
  2. Write a DONE! list for a fictional character for this past week — Batman, Dr. Who, or someone you create yourself. Share it/link to it in the comments section so we can all have a giggle or a cry.

Happy writing!

One thought on “Writing Wednesday: The Done List

  1. Been needing a prompt to get past a speed bump in a short story. Taking you up on this.
    Martin is an 18 year old privileged senior who’s about to inform his mother he’s gay.
    Done list for my protagonist in a story titled SECOND OPINION:
    1.Figured out which side part looks better on me.
    2. Picked out my new spring wardrobe for purchasing next Saturday.
    3. Completed the research on why mom should get me an Audi instead of a Mercedes for my graduation gift.
    4. Wrote apology letter to the neighbor who’s grass I was late cutting.
    5. Created list of where I could live if I am kicked out tonight
    6. Bag pre packed
    7. Bed is made

Leave a Reply

